HOPE & WONDER

Hope&Wonder is a registered association in Tanzania (NGO 0009892) with the aim to be there for disabled children and to give them a happy future.

On the outskirts of Dar es Salaam, a children’s home for 8-12 children with disabilities is to be built, in which they will be supported in the best possible way and, above all, loved.

To support the project, the association HOPE & WONDER was founded in Switzerland. The small aid organisation is intended to help make the dreams and visions of HOPE & WONDER in Tanzania come true. Anyone can become part of this project by becoming a member of our association.

 

   

ABOUT US

My name is Angela and I am the founder of the project. I have already lived in Tanzania for one year from 2015 to 2016, where I saw the great need for facilities for disabled children and decided to found a home where the individual promotion of development and love are at the centre stage.
In Tanzania we founded an NGO with 5 locals and in Switzerland a small association which helps to realize our visions.

 

ISSUE DISABILITY IN TANZANIA

The issue of disability is still a big taboo topic in Tanzania. Much is connected with their traditional faith, which sees disability as a curse. Entire families are considered cursed and are expelled because of a disabled child.

But even without this superstition, living with a disabled child in the poor living conditions in Tanzania is not easy. Usually all family members (especially both parents, if both are still present) have to contribute to the family’s livelihood and survival. If a family has a disabled child who needs to be cared for around the clock, one source of income is lost and the family gets into big trouble.

These are two of many reasons why handicapped children are often abandoned or, unfortunately, often killed.

If a handicapped child comes to a children’s home, there is usually no developmentally appropriate care and special support. In many children’s homes there are 20-30 children for one caregiver and those who cannot provide for themselves quickly perish.

Another problem is the lack of information. Many families do not even know what their child has and how they should deal with the child and support it. There is no counselling / support for these families.

 

WAYS TO HELP

You can help! The project is only realizable with your support!
Become a member of our association or use the possibility to support HOPE & WONDER financially.

Our Bank Account in Switzerland:
HOPE & WONDER Schweiz Postfinance
Konto:15-186891-9
IBAN: CH73 0900 0000 1518 6891 9
BIC/SWIFT: POFICHBEXXX

Our Bank Account in Tanzania:
Hope and wonderful disabled children
0150398590200
CRDB Bank
Swift code: CORUTZTZ

 

EVERY DONATION COUNTS,

no matter if 10, 20 or 100 – how much you donate is up to you, we are very grateful for any amount.

Because every donation counts!

Your donation arrives – without detours and without deductions, we guarantee that! The donations are used efficiently and sustainably, all supporters work voluntarily, so that every cent really benefits the needy in Tanzania.
The donations to our association account are tax deductible in Switzerland. We will gladly issue you with a donation receipt, please let us know your address.
For further information, including membership in our association, simply contact us.

 

Contact

Angela Zimmermann
angela@hopeandwonder.org
+41 77 400 93 84

Idrissa Moh`d Hassan (Tanzania)
+255 656 387 666

Claudia Bachmann-Huder (Switzerland)
claudia@hopeandwonder.org

Location in Tanzania

Hope & wonderful disabled children
Kibugumu, Dar es Salaam
P.O. Box 36584 Kigamboni
NGO/00009892

HOPE & WONDER

Hope & Wonder ist ein eingetragener Verein in Tansania (NGO 0009892), der sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat für behinderte Kinder da zu sein und ihnen eine glückliche Zukunft zu schenken.

Am Stadtrand von Dar es Salaam haben wir im September 2019 ein Kinderheim für 8-12 Kinder mit Beeinträchtigung eröffnet, in dem sie bestmöglich gefördert und vor allem geliebt werden.

Zur Unterstützung des Projekts wurde der Verein HOPE & WONDER in der Schweiz gegründet. Die kleine Hilfsorganisation soll helfen, dass die Träume und Visionen von HOPE & WONDER in Tansania wahr werden können. Jeder kann Teil dieses Projekts durch eine Mitgliedschaft in unserem Verein werden.

 

THEMA BEHINDERUNG IN TANSANIA

Das Thema Behinderung ist in Tansania nach wie vor ein grosses Tabuthema. Vieles hängt mit ihrem traditionellen Glauben zusammen, der Behinderung als Fluch ansieht. Ganze Familien gelten als verflucht und werden ausgestossen, aufgrund eines behinderten Kindes.

Aber auch ohne diesen Aberglaube ist das Leben mit einem behinderten Kind in den ärmlichen Lebensbedingungen in Tansania nicht einfach. Meist müssen alle Familienmitglieder (vor allem beide Elternteile, sofern beide noch vorhanden sind) zum Lebensunterhalt und zum Überleben der Familie beitragen. Hat eine Familie ein beeinträchtigtes Kind, um das sich rund um die Uhr gekümmert werden muss, fällt eine Einkommensquelle weg und bringt die Familie in grosse Schwierigkeiten.

Das sind zwei von vielen Gründen, warum häufig behinderte Kinder ausgesetzt, oder leider oft auch getötet werden.

Kommt ein behindertes Kind in ein Kinderheim gibt es meist keinerlei entwicklungsgerechte Betreuung und besondere Förderung. In vielen Kinderheimen hat es 20-30 Kinder für eine Betreuerin und wer sich nicht selbst versorgen kann, geht ganz schnell unter.

Ein weiteres Problem ist die fehlende Aufklärung. Viele Familien wissen gar nicht, was ihr Kind hat und wie sie mit dem Kind umgehen sollen und es fördern können. Es gibt keine Beratung / Unterstützung für diese Familien.

 

MÖGLICHKEITEN ZUM HELFEN

Sie können helfen! Das Projekt ist nur realisierbar mit Ihrer Unterstützung!
Werde Mitglied in unserem Verein oder nutze die Möglichkeiten HOPE & WONDER finanziell zu unterstützen.

Unsere Bank in der Schweiz:
HOPE & WONDER Schweiz Postfinance
Konto:15-186891-9
IBAN: CH73 0900 0000 1518 6891 9
BIC/SWIFT: POFICHBEXXX

Unsere Bank in Tansania:
Hope and wonderful disabled children
0150398590200
CRDB Bank
Swift code: CORUTZTZ

 

 

JEDE SPENDE ZÄHLT,

egal ob 10,- , 20,- oder 100.-  – wieviel Sie spenden bleibt Ihnen überlassen, wir sind für jeden Betrag sehr dankbar.

Denn jede Spende zählt!

Deine Spende kommt an – ohne Umwege und ohne Abzüge, das garantieren wir! Die Spenden werden effizient und nachhaltig eingesetzt, alle Unterstützer arbeiten ehrenamtlich, sodass jeder Rappen wirklich den Bedürftigen in Tansania zugutekommt.

Für weitere Infos, auch zur Mitgliedschaft in unserem Verein, wende dich einfach an uns.

 

Standort in Tansania